The Uncertainty of Setting Forth

You see it from time to time: people wondering on Facebook if they should cancel their Facebook account. “Friends” then leave two different kinds of comments. One kind expresses sympathy with the interest in canceling the account. “Yeah, I know what u mean. It’s so vapid sometimes. And I think I can get through life without knowing what your breakfast looks like. LOL!” Another kind reveals a dependence on the person’s important place in the Facebook world. “Awwww, don’t leave! I love your posts! I print them out and disperse them at work…. Uh, let me know if that’s ok.”

Ominously absent are the voices of the Facebookless. These people would add a third opinion, if they only had opportunity to share it. “Yeah, you might be able to get by. LOL!! Stay disconnected for a few weeks and see the world open up. If you don’t like it, you can always jump back into the stream of ads, likes and surveiled dialogue.”

Anyway, I’m canceling my account. Like the American colonists in 1776, I sense that I should give a declaration for the reasons of this action. I’m just not sure which should be my top concerns. Any suggestions? And what about suggestions of what to do with myself now?

 

2 Comments

Filed under autobiography, community, social media

2 responses to “The Uncertainty of Setting Forth

  1. Camelus beatus

    You are actually brave enough to venture into the real world? The flesh and blood world of naked faces and warm hands? Gutsy postmodern patriot, eh? Zuckerberg is watching every move you make. He will find you, and you will confess everything in the Ministry of Truth.

    • benembry

      Yes, I’m taking baby steps into bravery (perhaps the title of a future post, hmm?). Time will prove if entry into normal life was worth the trouble, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

